Firefox 2.0.0.6 is Driving Me Insane

Update: I rolled Firefox back to a previous version. Same issues. I fired it up in safe mode. Same issues. I’m typing this from IE. I can’t take it anymore! I’ll keep trying to find a solution when I have the time and if I do, I’ll post it here.

About 2 weeks ago, Firefox starting randomly hanging. It’s not related to a specific Web site although I suspect it has something to do with running Java scripts. The symptoms are as follows.

I click in a box to type something and nothing happens for up to 15 seconds. I click on a button on Web page and nothing happens for up to 15 seconds. Everything moves along fine for a couple of minutes and then I try to scroll a page. Nothing happens. Sometimes the Firefox program icon goes to the non-responding icon. My CPU usage spikes to 100% during these lags. It’s maddening.

Googling this problem has not returned anything useful yet. I don’t have any extensions installed. I reinstalled the latest Java update (which I think is what caused this mess in the first place). I ran a spyware check. I checked my processes for anything that looked suspicious. I cleared my cache. I changed Firefox so it only uses one processor. No improvement so far. Arrrgh!

The Firefox error console shows lots of the following errors: “Warning: Error in parsing value for property ‘cursor’. Declaration dropped.” The Firefox forum claims this wouldn’t cause a crash. It’s just a CSS error.

I haven’t done a full reinstall of Firefox yet. I think it may be my last hope. Help me Obi Wan!

2 Comments »

  1. Riley Said:

    I have EXACTLY the same problems. I did a full reinstall of Firefox and it didn’t solve anything. I’ve even tried to install the flashblocker extension that most forums have suggested. Didn’t solve anything. *sigh*

  2. pachysandra Said:

    Hopefully the updates that Firefox did today will clear it up.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

