Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Season 8

buffy1.jpgLately, I’ve been watching my DVDs of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, season 7. For seven years that show was a weekly ritual for me. Rewatching it reminded me of how much I still miss it. Imagine my joy when I heard that Joss Whedon (the creative genius behind the show) is doing Season 8 in comic book form! You can check out a preview of the first several pages of Issue #1 from Dark Horse Comics, due out in March. It looks really freaking cool!
TV Guide has a great interview with Joss regarding the comic books. Here’s an excerpt:

TVGuide.com: How many issues will there be? And how many are you writing?
Whedon:
The season should run between 20 and 30 issues, I’m guessing. It has, like the [TV] seasons did, an overriding story with an ending point. I’ll be writing the beginning, the first four, the last four, and I’ll definitely be doing some others. I have a bunch of other writers — comic-book heavies and former writers from the show — who are going to write the other issues. I’ll be overseeing the whole thing, and they’ve all got my giant mission statement about what the giant arc is about.

TVGuide.com: What is the giant arc about?
Whedon:
I’m not going to tell you that. But I can tell you that it’s about the ramifications of everything that happened in Season 7. At the end of the show, Buffy made every girl who might be a potential vampire slayer into a fully realized slayer with all the remembered history and powers, so she’s made a big change in the way the world works. The comic will be dealing with that when we pick up the story several months later.

Thank you Joss!

Leave a Reply

