The Devil Made Him Do It…

I normally restrict my political and religious remarks to other people’s political blogs but I just couldn’t resist this one. Reverend Ted Haggard lost his position as head of the New Life church in Colorado Springs today. It reminds me of a CEO/founder of a corporation being fired by his board of directors for misconduct. Since the mega-church evangelical movement is nothing but big-business in sheep’s clothing, I’d say the comparison is pretty accurate.

For those who would like some background, Harpers published a fascinating story about Rev. Ted in May 2005. While people like myself find it all very creepy and sad, I doubt most of his followers found much to complain about in the article. I checked out a Seattle mega-church many years ago at the invitation of a coworker, and what I read in Harpers matched my own experience. I come from a Christian background, having attended several Christian schools and having been an active member of Young Life, so I feel reasonably well qualified to spout off on the subject. These people seem to have taken the concepts put forth in the Frank E. Peretti novels (Christian fantasy) and made them gospel. It’s bizarre. It’s like if someone decided that Tolkein’s tales of Middle Earth were historical fiction instead of literary fantasy and then lived their life accordingly. Anyway, back to Rev. Ted.

My comment on this story is that in spite of this man’s hypocrisy, he’ll be back. He may have to start over with a new ministry, but I have no doubt that he’ll use the repentant sinner approach to regain his wealth, status, and position. I won’t be surprised if he ends up wealthier and more powerful than he was before, and here’s why. From the Houston Chronicle,

“Church member Christine Rayes, 47, said the congregation had hoped the allegations ‘were all lies.

‘We all have to move forward now,’ she said. ‘This doesn’t make what Ted accomplished here any less. The farther up you are, the more you are a target for Satan.'”

See, he can just blame it all on Satan (aka, other gay men) and continue to try to eradicate his own personal demons by eradicating the free will of others to live and love as they choose. So much for personal responsibility. So much for worrying about the log in your own eye before you worry about the splinter in someone else’s. Why can’t these people leave the rest of us alone?

Leave a Reply

