On My Shiny New Laptop

acer1.gifOooo — It’s shiny. It’s fast. It has a gig of RAM and a 120 gig hard drive. The screen is wide and clear. It weighs about 2 lbs less than my old Vaio. The battery lasts for 2.5 hours. It has a dual-layer DVD burner. I paid less than a grand for it. <Gush>

Installing all my sh!t on it is going to take a week! I keep remembering programs, codecs, and plug-ins that need to be installed. Soon, I will add my stickers to the cover. I hope I never have to take it apart, but a few years from now I suspect I’ll be writing a sob story about some part of it needing replacement. Until then, it’s shiny, new, and ahhh, very exciting…

3 Comments »

  1. Steve Said:

    Yep – a new computer is the new new shoes. Nothing quite like it. If you’re a geek like me. I’ve heard great things about Acer. You get a lot of bang for your buck and the quality is there, too. I haven’t been able to find anything on it so I may be full of it, but I seem to recall hearing that Acer got into trouble many years back for using refurbished parts in new machines. They’ve had to battle back from that and appear to have done everything right. I’ll look closely at Acer if I ever decide to replace my IBM ThinkPad T41…

  2. jeff Said:

    Wow. I bought a computer two years ago (?) and I got the fastest I could get for editing video. Which meant a desktop. It has 512 RAM and I think a 120 gig hard drive. Now your laptop–which always trail desktops in technology–could beat up my wee machine with one hand tied behind it’s screen. ‘Tis the pity of tech.

  3. Rob Said:

    So are you liking the new laptop? I’m in the market for one and looking at Acer on Newegg. They look nice!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

