Rock Kills Kid at the Hawthorne Theater – Canceled!!!

1193207631_m.jpgWell sh!t on a stick, the show was canceled! <Sigh> I’ll just have to blast their CD, do some housework (which I had hoped to avoid) and maybe get a good night’s sleep instead. I’ll try to figure out this images formatting thing too.

Preshow report:

Tonight I’m heading over to the Hawthorne Theater, conveniently located within walking distance of my abode, to see Rock Kills Kid, The Village Green, and To Live and Die in L.A. This will be my third outing with Rock Kills Kid and I’m super excited to see them headlining!

I first saw them open for The Lovemakers at the Doug Fir. That was my favorite show in 2005. It was Rock Kills Kid, She Wants Revenge, and The Lovemakers. I’m still reeling from it! I was there for She Wants Revenge, whom I had just the week before discovered on satellite radio. RKK was a total surprise!

From their press kit, “…Jeff Tucker, now lead vocalist, guitarist, and songwriter for Los Angeles-based alt-rock quintet Rock Kills Kid, was a socially withdrawn, barely employed, directionless 19 year old. Writing songs saved him. You can hear it all over the 10 jagged tracks he wrote for Rock Kills Kid’s debut Are You Nervous?. The album’s emotional tension recalls some of the most angst-filled recordings of the late ’70s and ’80s by U2, The Cure, Joy Division and The Smiths.”

I bought RKK’s EP and waited for their full length debut, which finally came out in the spring. The entire album is great! I guess living in a storage unit and cleaning yourself with babywipes for three years leads to good songwriting! You can check out that story here. I saw them again along with The Lashes at the Crystal Ballroom earlier this year. It’s always a kick to buy tickets to a show just so I can see the opener! I was glad the tickets were cheap because their set was short. Or maybe I just didn’t want it to end!

I’ve heard of The Village Green and seen their posters around town but I’ve never caught one their shows. I’ve been listening to a bit of their stuff online today and it’s good enough to catch my interest. I’ll do a post-show report tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

