One Thousand Pictures

Last Friday night my friends and I caught three bands at the Doug Fir, One Thousand Pictures, Persephone’s Bees, and Every Move a Picture. You just never know what kind of crowd you’ll end up with on any given night at the Doug Fir Lounge. In this case, the crowd was small and very well-behaved. There were a few amusing bridge and tunnel girls, clearly “out on the town” but other than that it was pretty mellow.

I always love it when the first band is the best. Partly it’s because they’re typically new to the scene and it feels like I’ve made a great discovery. Partly it’s because on a Friday night, after a long work week, I don’t really mind leaving the club early. Yes, I know, I’m getting old!

One Thousand Pictures, was a fun band to watch and listen to. I met the lead singer after their set and he was incredibly sweet. They had no merchandise for sale and were seemingly just really happy to be there. They’ve been signed by a major label with an album due out in January 2007. In the meantime you can download a couple of their songs from their MySpace page. Their music is an interesting mix of New Wave vocals, but with happier lyrics. Check them out and you’ll see what I mean.

I bought Every Move a Picture’s album that night. It’s not bad and I’m glad to see someone writing songs about politics. It seems like there would be a lot more of that in our current political climate but oddly, the voices of protest are just now starting to call out for attention in the music scene. They reminded me a bit of Radio 4, but musically not as good. The drummer in Radio 4 is amazing, but I digress.

Persephone’s Bees were interesting to watch. I felt like I was stuck back in the ’70s, complete with bad hair and bad clothes. The guitarist was having a grand time “wielding his instrument” and flirting with the afore mentioned bridge and tunnel girls. Two of my friends thought they were the best of the night. I suspect it may be a matter of taste, as mid-’70s rock isn’t my favorite.

Tonight I’ll see two Portland singer/songwriters at the Doug Fir. If they’re interesting I’ll report on them next week.

Leave a Reply

